Burlap and Lace {30th} Birthday Bash!!

So I hit the big 3-0!! YIKES!! And my husband was determined to throw a huge birthday party, double YIKES!!! Don’t get me wrong, I love having parties, just not for me. I don’t even like having birthday dinners or make a big deal over it. Not sure where this comes from, but I gave in.

Now, you would think that because I create cute party decorations I would know what I wanted for my own party, right? WRONG!! I kept going back and forth on designs, colors, patterns and themes. My mind went crazy. That is until I found this picture that inspired me.

color inspiration for burlap and lace party

Inspiration for Burlap and Lace Party Pictures found on Pinterest – original link could not be found

As soon as I saw that picture of the pier and the accenting colors I fell in love. I knew this would be my color scheme. As I searched for party essentials I came across this second picture and knew I had to incorporate the Robin’s Egg blue with Vanilla and Kraft Paper Brown. And out of nowhere, I started thinking about Burlap and Lace.

With my colors, patterns and party elements set, the next task on my list were the invites.  I didn’t want anything fancy or complicated. Just something small and simple, and definitely no pictures. So this is what I came up with.

Bulap and Lace Invitation Set

I love how they came out!! Since I was going to use burlap for my table runners, I decided to use that as my invitation background and added a little of lace. Once the invitations were done and set, then came the fun part, the decorations.

My husband wanted to create this calm, relaxing outdoor atmosphere to set the tone for the event.  We chose to have a small intimate dinner party with our most closest friends and family. He wanted dimmed lights and soft music playing on the background, he knows me too well.

Because I knew we needed lots of candles, I chose to use recycled jars for my centerpieces. So I gathered up all of my glass vases, votive candle holders, mason jars, and pretty much every single glass that could hold a candle I owned. In total, we used over 80 containers, wrapped them in lace, burlap and ribbon, and put candles in them.

Burlap and Lace Party Candles and Table Setup

It was very hard getting good pictures with such low lighting, so I had to re-do our Chocolate Fountain Treat Table and take better detailed pictures of the vases.

I wanted to create something different to hang from our tarp. I didn’t want tissue paper pom pom, something more of a chandelier. Thankfully, I remembered about this cute baby mobile I found on Printerest with clear diamond beads and decided to add a smaller ribbon chandelier to the center. I added burlap to the top and voila! My very own party chandelier!

Burlap and Lace Chandellier

And it’s not a Birthday Party without a cake. My sister always makes my Party cakes. I just give her my theme, colors and patterns and she creates such beautiful designs. I’m so lucky!!

Burlap and Lace Party Chocolate Fountain Setup

For this Chocolate Fountain Table Set up, I used a backdrop made out of fabric scraps and lace. I was fortunate to find all my fabric at my local Joann Fabric Craft Store on clearance with an additional 50% Red Tag discount. Not to mention the additional discount I got at the register when I used my additional 10% sale and regular priced purchase!! I couldn’t believe how much I saved. I added different colors of lace and tulle with the fabric. With the help of my mother-in-law and dear friend, we ripped fabric strips and tied it to a long piece of rope twine to match our theme.  Then we added lights to the back for that special effect.

Burlap and Lace Backdrop Closeup burlap and Lace Backdrop night

I made water bottle labels and got cups and napkins from Party City in Robbins Egg Blue and Vanilla.

Burlap and Lace Drinks

Due to so many orders I had to complete, it took me a few months before I could take better pictures of the candle centerpieces. But so happy I did, otherwise these details would not have been able to be displayed.

Burlap and Lace Centerpieces

Burlap and Lace Chocolate Table

Burlap and Lace Table Setup complete

Overall I was extremely happy with the results. It was a lot of work but I had plenty of help. And best of all, I was able to share it my family and friends. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

